The journey starts here …..

“You’re off to great places. Today is your day. Your mountain is waiting, so get on your way”

Dr Seuss

Today, whilst more sensible beings were tucking into their Sunday Roasts I had my first personal training session with the fearsome pocket rocket that is Lauren. What Lauren lacks in stature she sure makes up for in strength, motivation and knowledge and I trust her implicitly to help me on my journey.

We started the session with the dreaded taking of measurements and a weigh in. Not any weigh in but one with those hi-tech scales that monitor weight, Body Mass Index (BMI) and Body Fat Ratio.

I have to say that despite needing / wanting to lose a healthy amount of weight it’s the body fat ratio that really bothers me. In my case it’s high, probably twice where it should be for a 5ft 7”, 41 year old woman and is verging on scary territory in terms of the potential health implications. I very much aim to make a huge dent in this area.

In the spirit of just laying it all out there for everyone to see, listed below are my starting stats:-

Weight – 85.4kg

Body Fat Ratio – 43.8% (said it was bad didn’t I?!)

BMI – 30.1

Measurements

Arm – 11”

Chest – 36”

Waist – 36” (at least I’m consistent!)

Thigh – 23”

I intend to keep posting progress on these numbers so if you’d like to see how I’m getting on check the weight loss menu for updates.

After the easy bit i.e. me standing still whilst Lauren ran around measuring I did a 50 minute relentless workout that went something like this.

Lauren “Give me 10 reps of xxxxxx”

Me “huff puff, huff puff”

Lauren “Now on your front, give me 10 reps of xxx”

Me “huff, huff, puff, puff, puff”

Lauren (looking like she’s enjoying herself) “On a scale of one to ten whats the intensity like?”

Me (looking ever redder) “huff, wheeze, huff, puff”

…. You get the picture.

Joking aside it felt really good to work hard knowing I have a very clear goal. I’m on a 10 week countdown to surgery and want to give myself a great headstart. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

