I Love It When A Plan Comes Together ….

Lucky old me, I didn’t have to work today and had no appointments. This meant I was able to concentrate on resting, working out and eating right….what a luxury!

I started my day with a healthy breakfast of 2 soft boiled eggs, fresh strawberries, a jasmine green tea and a small glass of fresh orange juice.

Healthy Breakfast

Nothing very active to report for the rest of the morning other than finishing a very good Karin Slaughter book, Indelible.

For lunch I had the soup of the month from The Covent Garden Soup Company, Butternut Squash and Black Turtle Bean …. really lovely and only 162 calories for the whole pot. I had this with a couple of Seeded Wholemeal Pitta Breads from the Food Doctor.

Butternut Squash & Black Turtle Bean Soup

Just before I headed to the gym I had a yoghurt and a serving of almonds … I thought I might need these as I was intending to throw the ViPR around for 40 minutes!

Pre Gym Snack

I had a great work out at the gym, concentrating on core strength exercises and using the ViPR which has become my favourite thing to do now that Spinning is out of the equation.

When I got back from the gym I had a Chocolate Protein Shake which I mixed up with skimmed milk. Protein repairs and builds muscle and therefore helps with toning. An article I read recently in Top Sante magazine written by Dame Kelly Holmes (double gold medal winning Olympian) said the window for taking a protein shake is approximately 20 minutes post work out so I made sure I had this as soon as I reached home and just before a lovely bubble bath!  I’ve tried some god awful protein shakes but this one is lovely, it tastes just like a chocolate milkshake and not at all powdery.

I ended my day with a lovely dinner of Edamame Bean Salad (thank you Marks and Spencer) and a salmon fillet which I baked in the oven for 15 minutes having added a lemon and herb crust. This recipe is really quick and very yummy so I’ll post the recipe on here another day.

Edamame Bean Salad & Herb Crusted Salmon

In between all this lovely healthy food I drank plenty of water and of course ended with my treat of a cup of decaffeinated coffee and two pieces of Dark Chocolate.

Why can’t every day go this smoothly?!!

Leave a Reply

