Curried Butternut Squash Soup

The clocks went back in the UK today by one hour which meant a lovely extra 60 minutes in bed this morning, Zzzzzzz.

Unfortunately no PT session or weigh in today as my trainer, Lauren was ill (get well soon Lauren). I’ve decided to try a little patience on for size and not weigh myself independently, waiting instead until next week when I work out with Lauren again. Its a bit of an anti climax as I’ve been hoping I might reach the 1 stone milestone (14lbs to the folks in the US) but I’m in this for the long haul so another week won’t hurt.

I crossed two of my October goals off the list today. I went to my local farmers market with the intention of having a nice stroll and sampling the lovely food and drink on offer. However (and I blame the clock changes!) I arrived just as everyone was packing up, doh!

All was not lost though as I came across Redbournbury Mill’s stall where they still had some beautiful organic loaves for sale. The stallholder explained I was to late to purchase anything but very kindly gave me a bag and said “choose one, I won’t take any money”. How kind was that?

My free loaf of bread!

I’ve discovered the mill has stood on the site in Redbournbury for over 1000 years. It was restored by volunteers after a fire in 1987 and is open to the public. As it’s very nearby to me and because the man was so nice today I fully intend to pay a visit and buy some more of their delicious bread.

http://www.redbournburymill.co.uk/The-Bakery

The second goal ticked off today was to cook something with Butternut Squash or Pumpkin.

Curried Butternut Squash Soup (courtesy of my friend Sarah!)

Ingredients (Serves 4)

1 large onion

1 Butternut Squash

Olive oil

2 Teaspoons of Ground Cumin

2 Teaspoons of Curry Powder (I used 3 teaspoons of Hot Curry Powder as I like my food spicy)

2 Pints of good vegetable stock

Salt and pepper to taste

Curried Butternut Squash Soup Ingredients

Finely slice the onion and fry until glossy, not brown in the olive oil; Deseed, peel and cube the squash.

Add all the ingredients into a large pan and bring to the boil. Simmer for 40 minutes or until the squash is soft. Keep adding water if necessary.

To finish I liquidised 3/4 of the soup till smooth then added the remaining 1/4 for a bit of bite.

I then served the soup with chunks of the organic wholemeal bread which was delicious.

Healthy Curried Butternut Squash Soup and Organic Bread

To round off a relaxing Sunday I’m going to see Skyfall the new James Bond film. There’s nothing wrong with a bit of Daniel Craig on a cold October Sunday!

One thought on “Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

