Flummoxed ….

…. what a great word to accurately describe how I’m feeling.

I had my fifth PT session at the gym today and had a real bounce in my step when I left home as I felt sure I’ve been doing great and was about to smash the 14lbs lost mark (or one stone as we call it in the UK). If you recall I didn’t weigh in last week as my Trainer, Lauren was ill so todays session started with a stroll through my food diaries and the weight, fat % and BMI measures. I stepped on the scales and then this happened:-

Weight 83kg – This translates to a gain of 7lbs (1/2 a stone in the UK)

Body Fat % 46.2 – An increase of 4.7%

BMI 29.2 – Yep, you’ve guessed it another increase, this time 1.1%

I have worked out 4 times this week, I have religiously drunk 2 litres of water a day, I have tracked my eating and have stuck to healthy, portion controlled foods. Other than it being a certain time of the month (I’m talking to the Ladies here) I’ve been an angel. So seriously give me a break what is this all about?

Yep, sure am!

Part of me says “it’s just a strange, unexplained blip”, however another slightly louder voice keeps saying “you’ve screwed up”.

Lucky for me I have a lovely Brother whom I rang as soon as I returned from the gym. He hadn’t seen me for 3 weeks until yesterday and said how fantastic he thought I looked and how focused and determined I seemed when working out.

The facts are that I do feel slimmer, I do feel healthier and I’m wearing clothes I haven’t been able to wear in a long time. I’m going to try to hang onto this positive image and not the numbers above as I move forward this week. Well that’s the plan anyway!

Have you ever experienced a gain like this that you couldn’t explain? What did you do? What advice did people give to you?

Help!!!!

One thought on “Flummoxed ….

  1. Pingback: Body and Blog Maintenance …. | fit foot

Leave a Reply

