Borough Market ….

I spent a lovely day today in London’s Borough Market which is situated on the south bank of the River Thames by Southwark Cathedral.

London’s Oldest Fruit and Veg Market

It’s a real food lovers paradise and lots of the top London chefs source their produce from the stallholders who exhibit at the market. As I waited for my buddy Pauline to arrive I grabbed a cup of green tea and was surprised when it was accompanied by a shot glass of chocolate smarties! I thought “I’ll just have one”, I finally moved them to a different table at 8!

Cuppa Tea and a Shot Glass of Chocolate Smarties

When Pauline arrived we headed for the market which consists of covered markets and several old courtyard areas. The stalls are diverse, selling all manner of fresh, organic and artisan food goods. A selection of the stalls are below:-

Fresh Herbs

Artisan Breads

Pastries and Cakes

Pretty Pastel Macaroons

After sampling half a ton of cheese and various other yummy delights we headed off for lunch.

Sushi and Sashimi for me

I had tuna and avocado nigiri and salmon sashimi …. nom nom nom! Pauline went for a Japanese twist on a British classic of Fish n Chips, by all accounts that was also delicious!

The Shard Tower … wouldn’t mind a Penthouse apartment!

There was just time to snap this picture of London’s newest landmark building ‘The Shard’. There are some seriously expensive penthouse apartments at the top with views of London to die for. If I win the euro millions lottery tonight which is an estimated 122 million pounds I might just invest …..

One thought on “Borough Market ….

  1. Pingback: Anyone Fancy a Brew? | fit foot

Leave a Reply

