The 2 Week Countdown Begins ….

Oh! Boy …. it’s now 2 weeks until my foot surgery and the need to get organised has ramped up ten fold.

I’m now really focused on ticking things off my to do list and have done quite well over the last couple of days.

Yesterday I wrote a list of outstanding presents I had to buy and went shopping. I was like a woman possessed and got everything, including cards, wrapping paper … EVERYTHING!!!

Today I defrosted the freezer (groan) and was able to see what I need to use up before a mega shop at Costco next week.

I then ticked off another November goal by portioning out some healthy snacks. I include dark chocolate in this category as I only have 2 pieces each evening. It’s my sweet treat that keeps me on the straight and narrow.

Time to apply some portion control!

I got 30, 25g portions out of the bag of almonds and 15 days worth of chocolate out of the bars.

Next I cooked 3 Shepherds Pies, freezing 2 and I kept one aside for my dinner 🙂

Shepherds Pie Ingredients:-

2 x Onions (chopped)
2 cloves of Garlic (chopped)
Lean Beef Mince
A dash of Worcestershire Sauce (I’m quite heaving handed with this)
2 x Beef Stockpots
Frozen Mixed Vegetables (or whatever veg you have to hand)
Olive Oil
Carrot and Swede Mash
Handful of grated Cheddar Cheese

Shepherds Pie Ingredients

I browned the lean mince for 5 minutes then added the onion, garlic and beef stockpots dissolved in 1/2 pint of boiling water … cooking for a further 5 minutes. I then added the Worcestershire Sauce and frozen vegetables and cooked for a further 10 minutes.

Shepherds Pie Mixture

I shared the mixture across 3 oven proof dishes and added a layer of carrot and swede mash. This was finished off with a sprinkling of Cheddar cheese and some ground black pepper.

This one headed for the oven!

I cooked 1 pie on Gas Mark 200 for 20 minutes (or until the top turns golden brown).

After 20 minutes in the oven … not beautiful but tastes great!

Tomorrow I’m headed for the seaside. I’m going to Brighton for a couple of days and can’t wait to spend some time with my friend Sharon and enjoy the sea air and sights 🙂

Leave a comment