Things I Wish I Could Do at The Moment (Volume 1) ….

It’s not even been a week since my surgery but I’m already getting impatient. This does not bode well considering I have another 7 weeks and 2 days on crutches!

Here are a few things that we all take for granted that I’ve been wishing I could do today:-

1) Have a bubble bath or even a shower – I can’t get my bandage wet and I’m not allowed to take it off yet.

Ahhhh a lovely bubble bath ....

Ahhhh a lovely bubble bath ….

2) Go upstairs – I can’t get up the stairs yet and even if I did go up on my backside I couldn’t get down safely.

3) Stay awake for more than 4 hours at a time – The painkillers I’m taking are very strong and even though I’ve halved the dose they still send me to the land of nod. A good example is today, I woke up at 10.30am and was asleep again between 2pm-7pm!

4) Wash my hair – There’s no way I can do this on my own so Michael is tackling this for me tomorrow, hooray!

5) Take the bandage of my foot and have a peek at the damage – Just being nosy really but I’m not allowed. I have a redressing on Thursday and will get to have a look then.

6) Get to and from the bathroom without help. I can get to the bathroom on my own now but getting back is a little tougher as there are two steps up to negotiate. I tried one the other day and it didn’t go so well so for the time being I need to apply a little patience.

7) Exercise – Goes without saying really, this is going to drive me insane!

But apparently every cloud has a silver lining so tomorrow I’ll try and ponder what’s good about my current situation…it might be a very short post 🙂

9 thoughts on “Things I Wish I Could Do at The Moment (Volume 1) ….

  1. Hello

    Hope you have had a good day.

    Trying to help with some positives………..you are spending quality time with Michael, while you manage to stay awake at least.

    There will be no stopping you when you are fit foot again.

    You will have a lovely new , pain free fit foot !!!

    It is always good to leave your hair for a few days without washing and products, it does it good !!!

    I can’t actually think about anything good about not having a bath or shower……poor Michael !!

    Hope this helps Xxxx

    Sent from my iPad

    • Thank you both of you for making me chuckle. I can’t tell you how excited I am about having my hair washed and every time I look at my ‘Meerkat’ crutches they make me smile xxx

  2. Adrian’s positives are:

    Spending quality time with Mabel

    Having the funkiest crutches ever !!

    That is Adrian’s contribution……..rubbish !!

    Xxx

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Sarah’s positives are :- Reading lots of good literiture. Sodoku to build the brain. Box sets of really good TV. Rest for the body and soul. Write letters not emails and send them to people who will be surprised and delighted. Watch documentarys you never would have and learn stuff you never knew you wanted to learn.

  4. Pingback: Things I Wish I Could Do at The Moment (Volume 2) …. | fit foot

Leave a Reply

