Friend Makin’ Mondays: Twelve in 2012 ….

Today I’ve been hobbling around more than I have managed in the previous 3 weeks so it’s nice to sit down with an ice pack on my ankle and a cuppa to reflect on the year that has been 2012.

image

Now, if you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Twelve in 2012

1. What was your greatest personal accomplishment in 2012? Without a doubt 2012 has been the year when I finally faced up to and addressed the impact of the sudden hearing loss I experienced 4 years ago. I simply went to bed one night hearing (although I had some minor hearing loss in one ear) and woke the next day non hearing. There is no known medical reason for this happening to me or indeed any family history, I was told it was ‘bad luck’! If you can for a moment imagine one of your senses suddenly being taken away from you, you may appreciate that there are a few emotional challenges to overcome! I guess I should write a blog post on this topic at some point but I’ll summarise by saying 2012 is the year the clouds parted and the burden lifted.

2. What’s the best thing your did for your health? Well I stopped with the fizzy drinks (soda) in August  and haven’t had one since. Of course having my foot operation on 29th November is also (hopefully) going to reap benefits in the coming months and years.

3. Share one thing that caused a significant change in your life this year. See question 1!

4. List a few things that you experienced for the first time at some point over the last twelve months.

– I turned 41 (eek!)

– I opened my garden to the public as part of my village ‘Open Gardens’ day.

– I discovered the ViPR in the gym.

5. What was the coolest place you visited? The London 2012 Olympic Games and it was mind blowing! I also spent my birthday with my expat friend Emma in her new neighbourhood, Park Slope, Brooklyn and spent time in the achingly hip Williamsburg.

Williamsburg

Williamsburg

6. If you could change one thing about the last year what would it be? I worked out a budget and savings plan at the beginning of the year and managed to follow it until March. I wish I’d stuck with it and will aim to try again in the New Year.

7. What is the best meal you ate this year? We don’t  have diners in the UK so I’d have to say the huge meal I had in Juniors Diner in Brooklyn. It consisted of the largest servings of Southern Fried Chicken, Colgan Greens, Mashed Potato and Gravy on the planet and my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Pre Fit Foot Blog!

Pre Fit Foot Blog!

8. Tell us about a new friend you made. No one individual really springs to mind here as the nature of my job means I parachute in to a company for a while then leave for the next role somewhere entirely different. However it was nice to meet more neighbours in the village due to the open gardens event in June and also I’m starting to build new virtual friendships through blogging.

9. What did you hope to accomplish this year that you did not? See question 6! I would also loved to visit Emma again in NY but the money needed directing elsewhere.

10. Share something you learned in 2012. That you can not hope to successfully tackle your physical self unless you’ve first addressed your thoughts and emotions. Free yourself from that burden and the only way is up 🙂

11. Share an odd and unexpected thing that you experienced this year. Not so much odd but definitely unexpected. Olympic tickets were very expensive and I spent a lot of money on tickets to the Synchronised Swimming Duet Finals in the Aquatics Centre for me and my Mum. When we arrived it became apparent that we were very high up in the stands and the organisers felt this would prove difficult for my Mum who has mobility problems. With no fuss at all they exchanged our tickets for those which would have cost over another £100 each and we found ourselves almost poolside and had the most wonderful time that I will never forget. 2012 was a year when I felt ridiculously proud to be British!

Medal Ceremony (Gold, Russia - Silver, Spain - Bronze, China)

Medal Ceremony (Gold, Russia – Silver, Spain – Bronze, China)

12. How do you think 2013 will differ from 2012? 2013 will be the year I fight back to post surgery fitness, shed some more weight, become stronger and maybe, just maybe compete in my first Triathlon with my Brother later in the Summer. I also hope me and Michael continue to grow together and enjoy an amazing holiday in the Far East. I also aim to make more of an effort career wise in 2013. I’ve been coasting a bit, accepting work as I’m offered it even if it’s not been very fulfilling. I want to change that and start landing contracts in sectors that really appeal to me. Basically stop being so damn lazy!

Leave a Reply

