Juicy ….

I’ve been thinking about buying a juicer for some time especially after reading about the health benefits and seeing fellow bloggers such as Ashley @ Coffee, Cake and Cardio rave about theirs. Firstly though I wanted to make sure of a few things; a) I did my research into the best juicers on the market and b) and maybe more importantly that I had room in my teeny tiny kitchen to accommodate one. What I didn’t want to happen is that I used the juicer twice then consigned it to a cupboard to gather dust. This is why one of my January goals was to have a kitchen clear out which I successfully did a few weeks ago leaving a whole work surface clear for juicing.

I researched juicers online and was flabbergasted by the range and cost. I wanted something that can cope with a whole range of fruit and vegetables and had minimal washing up! I settled on the Phillips HR/1871/00 Avance which is a heavy duty, robust juicer with very good reviews. In addition this model is used by ‘The Juice Master’, Jason Vale. However this juicer is not cheap but I managed to save myself £80 by shopping around, finally purchasing via Amazon.

Phillips  HR/1871/00 Avance Juicer

Phillips HR/1871/00 Avance Juicer

One of the complaints many people make about juicing is the amount of cleaning involved. The Phillips Avance is a breeze in this department. I’ve found that discipline is the key, as long as you rinse all the component parts immediately after juicing the only item that needs a clean with a brush is the filter, alternatively the parts are dishwasher safe.

The quality of the juices far surpass anything you can buy in a carton and are of course as fresh as can be. Here are a selection of the juices I’ve prepared so far.

‘The OAP’

This juice is a combination of 2 oranges, 2 apples and 2 pears. It tastes just like the ridiculously expensive fresh juices they serve in Wagamamas.

The OAP Juice

‘The Morning Sunrise’

This was lovely, a combination of 2 apples, 1/2 a lemon, 1 orange and a handful of strawberries.

image

‘The Variation on a Theme’

2 apples, 1/2 a lemon, 1 orange and 1 pear …. yum. Served with 45g of Muesli and Skimmed Milk and pretty healthy way to start the day.

Healthy Breakfast

I’m part way through Jason Vales (The Juice Master) Turbo Charge your Life in 14 Days. Its a great read and I’m feeling inspired to do the 14 day programme in February.

The only downside (if there is one) is the speed at which I am getting through fruit. The same will no doubt happen when I start on the veggie juices. So today I went on an expedition to bulk buy at the cheapest price possible. I’ll let you know how that went tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Juicy ….

  1. Pingback: Onwards and Upwards # 2 …. | fit foot

  2. Pingback: Friend Makin’ Mondays – | fit foot

  3. Pingback: Goodbye 2013 … | fit foot

Leave a Reply

