Friend Makin’ Mondays – Personal Quirks & Habits ….

Brrrrr, not on the scale of the recent storm in the US I know but it’s been steadily snowing since yesterday evening here in Blighty. Therefore FMM comes to you today from in front of a roaring fire while I’m trying to keep warm ….

image

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Personal Quirks and Habits

1. Share one unique character trait that sets you apart from your friends – I very quickly make a decision about something I’m going to do and just do it in a very focused way. I’m all or nothing in my approach to life!

2. List at least two pet peeves that always aggravate you – a) People that never use their indicators when driving. Luckily over the years I have developed an onboard crystal ball in my car and know which way these mystery people are going.

b) This one speaks for it’s self ….

Bad-customer-service

3. Is there a word or phrase that you say so regularly that people expect to hear it from you? Good old British curse words spring to mind, “Bugger” & “Bollocks” are probably favourites and are often used when dealing with the offenders in question 2a!

4. Are you a risk taker, or do you typically play it safe? Generally I would say I’m a risk taker but when it comes to anything financial I’m risk averse. Its the self employed mentality of not ever believing the next contract will happen. Although as someone pointed out in another FMM, being self employed is a risk in itself.

5. Describe your life as it was in high school. Are you the same person? Have you changed? Blimey, how long have you got?! At school I was obsessed with fashion and music. My best friend was a cool girl called Pauline who never followed the schools uniform rules! I was too clever for my own good and thought I knew everything, much to the frustration of my parents and teachers. I did badly in my exams because I couldn’t be bothered. Fast forward 25 years and I’m still pretty fashion obsessed and my best friend is still the rebellious Pauline 🙂 The thing that has changed is that once I started working I quickly appreciated I was fairly clever and the benefit of hard work and qualifications. Today I’m a self employed business consultant so haven’t done too bad. As an aside I went to a school reunion a few years ago and one of the guys there said to me “I remember you, you were always too cool for school!”

6. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done that you’re glad you did? I answered “Yes” when someone asked me if I fancied going to work in Kazakhstan! I worked there for 2 and a half years. The second year I also lived in Spain when I was on my downtime.

Traditional Kazakh Dress

Traditional Kazakh Dress

I got to experience a whole new way of life, a culture so different from my own, how to thrive in a different country and made a bunch of life long friends. I’m lucky to have had such an adventure.

Part of my monthly commute to work!

Part of my monthly commute to work!

7. Do you ever talk to yourself? If so, share an example – Not out loud … that’s the sign of a crazy lady!

8. Share something you did that unexpectedly helped shape your life – I took a chance on a boy called Michael. I went out do dinner for my best friends 40th and spent a long time chatting to him then left without exchanging numbers. When I got home I kicked myself and thought if I don’t do something this could be a missed opportunity so, quite out of character I got his number and rang him. Fast forward 2 years and we’re still together and very happy.

9. Do you follow a strict routine, or are you a free spirit? Are you somewhere in between? I’m a combination of the two. I like arranging things, making lists and setting goals for the future but also I love those spontaneous days where great things just happen.

10. Share something about yourself that you hope will inspire others – After suddenly losing my hearing near the end of 2008 I found myself questioning everything I knew about myself. I was traumatised by the speed of events and for a while a bit lost and depressed. Early in 2009 I had a conversation with my Brother and Sister in Law, I’d seen an advert for a charity trek of the Great Wall of China and asked them if they thought I could do it. They of course said yes and months of fundraising followed until in October 2009 I was trekking the Great Wall, dragging myself up and down a relentless number of steps for 5 days. It was my way of sticking two fingers up at what had happened to me and saying “Is that the best you can throw at me?”

The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China

I’m a great believer in the Japanese proverb – Fall down 7 times, stand up 8 … and as my Mum often says “You’re a long time dead”.

12 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Mondays – Personal Quirks & Habits ….

    • It was amazing but now I’m a little tinged with envy having seen you’ve been to Kashmir. I suspect it is a) stunning and b) a little scary in places (which can be good!)

    • Thank you … I can’t say it was easy and the whole hearing thing still throws up plenty of challenges but hey it’s not going to change so best just get on with it! 🙂

  1. I loved reading your interesting answers on this. Working in Kazakhstan sounds like a really interesting experience. And I feel definitely inspired by your trek to the Great Wall. Amazing!

    • Thanks Renee!

      Yep … working out in Kazakhstan is not your typical gig! You learn a lot about yourself when you work somewhere that remote.

      On the hearing front I’m reliant on 2 x hearing aids and lip reading. If someone mumbles or talks when looking away from me I’m in trouble but hey, it’s something you get used to over time. I’ve got some useful gadgets that help with watching the TV and using a mobile phone, etc ..

      🙂

Leave a Reply

