A Long Haul ….

Yesterday I travelled to Houston, Texas for a business trip.

The day started with my Brother, Sister in Law and Michael taking me to Heathrow Airport. After hugs and goodbyes I headed for the luggage drop off and saw this great installation celebrating The Chelsea Flower Show.

Heathrow

The prospect of a 9.5 hour flight and meetings the following morning was made bearable by the British Airways Business Class ticket, if only I could afford such luxury when paying for myself!

My first stop was the Business Class Galleries Lounge where I had breakfast, read the paper and chilled out.

BA_Business_Class_Lounge

IMG_20130527_092654

Terminal 5 at Heathrow Airport is huge so to get to the gate I hopped on the transit.

Boeing_777

Once on board I settled into my very comfy and roomy seat. This seat turned into a fully flat bed and I managed over 3 hours sleep on route which made the time go very quickly.

BA_Business_Class

The service on board was impeccable and the food was yummy!
I opted for the poached salmon, prawn & tarragon timbale to start, followed by the grilled sea bream with lime and parsley risotto for the main.

Starter

Main

Just before landing a traditional cream tea was served!

Cream_Tea

Because it was Memorial Day weekend lots of people were travelling and it took a long time to get through passport control and customs but I was soon in downtown Houston.

Houston

I just had time to throw my clothes in the wardrobe before heading out with my friends, Tamara and Jeff for Tex-Mex (shrimp wrapped in bacon, so delicious!) and several of these lovelies!

Frozen_Strawberry_Margaritas

Now I’m battling the jet lag but it’s great to be here!

2 thoughts on “A Long Haul ….

  1. There’s nothing like first class, right?? Texas is fun, I’ve been there several times for business as well. Get some BBQ!!
    So good to hear that you are doing well! How’s the foot?

    • Hi Sharon … Texas is fun, I think I’d like to work out here!

      I’m heading for the country with friends the weekend where I’ve been promised a big old Texas BBQ. In the meantime shrimp wrapped in bacon, strawberry frozen margaritas and iced tea are making me feel right at home!

      (Ps) loads of congrats on your 5k 🙂

Leave a Reply

