In Search of Balance …

Work-Life balance … what the hell is that?

I’m so confused at the moment that I Wiki’d the answer. They describe Work-Life balance as a concept including proper prioritizing between “work” (career and ambition) and “lifestyle” (health, pleasure, leisure, family and spiritual development/meditation).

Oh right! That’s why I couldn’t remember what it was, because I haven’t had any in quite some time.

See Saw

This year I have a lot to be grateful for. I have a cracking work contract in an unusual location. This contract is interesting, challenging and thankfully financially rewarding. I have enjoyed two wonderful holidays as well as a business trip to the States and have a Christmas family holiday to look forward to.

But, and there’s always a but … everything feels off kilter.

Instead of losing weight, I’ve gained weight.
Instead of fitting into everything in my wardrobe, I fit into half my wardrobe choices.
Instead of working out regularly, I’m sometimes doing well to visit the gym once a week.
Instead of having healthy choices and balanced meals, I have the fridge of a student.
Instead of planning ahead, I’m making choices as I go.

It doesn’t feel like a good place to be and I need to act before I completely lose my grip.

So, I plan to go back to basics. I may not be able to set the fitness world alight at present. I may not be in a position to try new low fat recipes every week but there are things I can do and goals I can set myself, however small they might seem.

I’m going to spend a couple of days revisiting what I’ve done that has worked in the past and setting myself some short term goals to take me through to year end.

They won’t be earth shattering and they will need to consider work schedules and travel but rest assured there will be something. Which let’s face it, is better than nothing.

2 thoughts on “In Search of Balance …

    • Yep it’s like the time old question “How should you eat an elephant?”
      Answer “In bite sized chunks”

      I lost sight of what works and stopped thinking.

      I have a goal to remedy that between now and Christmas. That’ll undo a little of the damage I’ve inflicted.

      Onwards and upwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

