Travel Triumph …

For the first time in quite a while I’ve managed to eat clean while working away from home. This week I’ve had two overnight stays in a hotel.

So what made the difference this time?

Firstly I travelled down to the hotel quite late on the first night and made sure I had dinner before I left home. This meant I wasn’t hungry when I arrived and I didn’t have a calorie laden restaurant meal.

Next I prepared snacks for the two day trip and bagged them up separately. Each bag contained a Granola bar, a bottle of water, chopped carrots and two pieces of dark chocolate. I also prepared some strawberries to go with Wednesday evenings hotel room meal.

Preparation

I limited myself to one shop brought coffee a day, a medium soya latte. There is a Starbucks in the hotel and a Costa at the office so my coffee intake has been rising. To be honest I think this is mostly out of boredom as wandering to grab a coffee gives me a break. The cost though is phenomenal when you add it up so this one needed nipping in the bud!

I worked out in the hotel gym on Wednesday evening. I completed a 10 minute warm up on the bike, 25 minutes of 30 second intervals (walk / run / walk / run) on the treadmill, followed by press ups and planks.

I made sure I organised dinner before I hit the gym and brought this low fat Thai Noodle salad from Starbucks. It was really good.

Thai Noodles

Instead of grabbing a sandwich and a bag of crisps for lunch I headed to the canteen. On Wednesday I enjoyed a Jacket Potato with Baked Beans, and a Satsuma and on Thursday I had a really good Tuna Steak Niçoise salad, and a Satsuma.

For breakfasts I had a small bowl of Granola and one slice of wholemeal toast with Marmite both days. In an attempt to not drink lots of calories I avoided the fruit juices and stuck to water.

Finally, as I had a couple of hours drive home I brought an egg wholemeal sandwich to eat in the evening to avoid grabbing something unhealthy through tiredness.

It’s been a really positive few days and by being mindful of what I’m doing and planning ahead I feel I’m one step closer to breaking through this rut I’ve found myself in.

Leave a Reply

