The Day I Tried to do Double Spin …

Today started off with me frantically running round the house trying to locate my Luluemon headband. It was a fruitless exercise as I have no blinkin clue where it’s got to. This disorganised run up and down the stairs saw me leave the house late and get outside the Spin studio just as the previous class was leaving, including my sweaty Brother.

I was armed and ready. 1.5 litre bottle of water, spin shoes, homemade piece of pick me up flapjack for the midway point and a towel, I was good to go.

Then, I started cycling.

I set the resistance to an 8 for the first minute or so to warm my legs up and thought “holy crap I must be tired.” My legs felt like lead weights and the 8 felt tough. Normally I’m sprinting on a 14 and standing sprint on a 16, so what the heck was going on. I had a look around and thought “nope, everyone else seems fine, must be me”.

As the class went on and my resistance and resulting calorie burn stayed low I became increasingly fed up. At this point the voice in my head kicked in. It went something like this “you are weak”, “thought you could manage a double spin, over reached yourself don’t you think?”, “you are not going to make it” and so on.

When the class came to an end I was so annoyed with myself that I didn’t stick around for the cool down. Instead I went to speak to my Brother who by this point was doing difficult looking things with weights, very high steps and Swissballs.

After I’d ranted and raved, had beaten myself up and used the term ‘epic fail’ more than once he said to me “that happened to me last week, what bike were you on?” I told him and he smiled and said “yeh, that was the bike I was on, they’ve set the resistance wrong, it’s the bike, not you!” Turns out he’d done double spin the week before, struggled through the first session (he’s extremely fit), had the same thoughts as me but instead of throwing his teddy out of the pram, he simply changed bikes for session 2 and was fine!

Ho hum.

So instead of the second Spin Class I did 30 minutes of intervals, walk, run, walk, run on the treadmill.

Treadmill Intervals

I’m now suspecting that I got a bl**dy good workout during the Spin Class and my burn was probably high. The experience also says to me my mind is weaker than my body and I’ve got some work to do to get it right!

I’m now off to clear out my gym kit drawer and turn the house upside down in a search for the missing headband.

2 thoughts on “The Day I Tried to do Double Spin …

  1. Pingback: Ain’t that the Truth … | fit foot

  2. Pingback: February Fitness – Week 3 | fit foot

Leave a Reply

